The top three dumb things that drive me crazy are:
1. Mealtimes. I get really irritated when both of my kids aren't eating when they're supposed to. It feels like nails on a chalkboard when yogurt and applesauce fling off of their highchairs and they squeal in delight. It makes me want to yell, "EAT YOUR FOOD AND DON'T MAKE A MESS!" (which I sometimes do ...over and over and over and over). I remember when they were starting solids and I used to read babycenter.com. Some article told me to encourage 'finger painting' with sweet potatoes on their tray so they can explore their food. The thought of that made me want to throw something. My house isn't super clean but I hate a mess. And yogurt and applesauce are VERY hard to clean up after they've dried. {insert Meghan from 10 years ago, Is this really your life? You talk about food on the floor?} Anyway, mealtime is annoying for me and I'm trying to let messiness go.
2. Yet similarly, I can't stand when my kids go outside after they've had their nighttime baths. Our neighbor's children are so fun and imaginative. It's not uncommon to see their youngest girl wondering around in a mud puddle, after dinner, dressed in PJs. Fun, right? Memories that kids will always remember? A cute kid, an adorable photo. But all I think is, 'OK, just as long as we do another bath because I just changed sheets.' I am my mother. But I don't want to do another bath. Because I'm tired and it's almost bed time. And I want 30 min. to myself once the kids are down. Play in the dirt all afternoon. Paint your face with sidewalk chalk. But preferable, can you keep it after nap time and before bed? Again with the crib sheets.
3. My last pet peeve is when my kids are woken up from their naps. We live in a somewhat rural neighborhood that definitely has a small town feel. It is very common to 'drop by' your friends house. Calling ahead isn't necessary, help yourself to a beer in the fridge. I generally like this, just not at nap time. I'm one of those obnoxious mothers who still put's a 'Knock please, kids are napping' sign on the front door. Because when I don't, the doorbell will ring five separate times: UPS, 2 of Mike's friends, a boy scout selling popcorn, a Jehovah and a Mormon. And on a good day when both kids are napping, all I want to do is hide in my room and read blogs or fold laundry in silence (I prefer the blog reading. Obviously). And when one or both of the kids are woken up too early, I have zero time to myself (I know, selfish) and the kids are cranky and I am cranky.
I sound like a super fun Mom, right? These are just the things that make me crazy. But this post is actually about how calm I've felt with the kids this week. And I wanted to share this snip it of my afternoon a couple days ago. I was cleaning up in Ella's room and when came out into our living room...I found every towel we own in a glorious pile on our couch. Annoying to refold? Yes. Naughty? Pretty much. But their giggles were like a MasterCard commercial, 'The smiles on their faces? Priceless.'
Thank you God for showing me the humor in my children this week. Thank you for reminding me of what's really important. Please teach me to loosen up a bit. Thank you for happy, healthy children. Despite the small stuff, I LOVE being a mom. I never forget that our babies are miracles.
